Let Our Orlando Drug Charges Lawyers Defend Your Rights
Despite the passing of Amendment 2 in 2016—legalizing medical marijuana in Florida—tens of thousands of patients are still waiting for their card applications to be approved. As a result, many have gone alternative routes to purchase marijuana. However, drug offenses are heavily prosecuted in the state, and that includes pot offenses.
If you have been arrested for a marijuana offense, please contact our drug charges lawyers from Alers Laws Firm as soon as possible. Many cannabis offenses are graded according to the amount of marijuana involved, and certain crimes can result in felony charges that carry very harsh and long-term consequences such as mandatory jail time, expensive fines and court-mandated drug treatment courses. We can take the steps necessary to effectively tell your side of the story and improve your chances of securing a favorable outcome.
Call (407) 988-0992 or contact us online for the help you need.
Florida’s Marijuana Laws and Penalties
While other states have passed laws for the legalization and decriminalization of marijuana, it remains illegal in Florida under the Controlled Substance Act, unless it’s used for medicinal purposes and with a doctor’s referral. Below are a few of Florida’s marijuana laws and penalties:
- Possession: Possessing 20 grams of weed or less is a misdemeanor, with penalties that include up to one year in prison and a maximum $1,000 fine. Over 20 grams is considered a felony, with a fine of up to $200,000 and no more than 30 years in prison.
- Cultivation: Possessing cannabis plants or contributing to their cultivation is a felony, with a maximum fine of $50,000 and up to 30 years in prison.
- Sale of Marijuana: Selling pot or possessing it with the intent to sell can either be a felony or misdemeanor. Penalties are similar to that of possession.
- Possession of Paraphernalia: Any instruments used to smoke marijuana recreationally are considered illegal, and possessing them is a misdemeanor with a maximum sentence of 1 year in prison and a $1,000 fine.
- Possession of Hash & Concentrates: Possessing these substances is an automatic felony, with a maximum 5 year prison sentence and a $5,000 fine.
In addition, a convicted marijuana offender can face a 5-year ban from become a foster parent or adopting, a 3-year ban from public housing, a lifetime ban from owning a firearm, and the ineligibility to receive certain professional licenses, permits or certifications.
If you have been charged with possession of marijuana, our attorney can use a number of defenses to reduce or drop your charges, including:
- The traffic stop was conducted without probable cause
- The officer searched you without probable cause or consent
- The officer violated your constitutional rights or your Miranda rights
- Insufficient evidence for a charge
- Your identity was mistaken
- You have an alibi
- There is a lack of intent
- A police officer used entrapment
Orlando Marijuana Defense Attorneys
A conviction for marijuana possession can result in jail time, expensive fines, license suspension, community service and a criminal record that may disqualify you from public employment or financial aid. At Alers Laws Firm, our experienced Orlando marijuana defense lawyers can make every effort to help you find the best possible outcome for your situation.
Call (407) 988-0992 or contact us online to receive your free defense consultation.
Client TestimonialsDedication That's Proven by Our Reputation
.- Ralph y Gloria